## Drake Public Library Board of Trustees Wednesday, July 12, 2023 Annual Board Meeting Minutes

Call to Order: Board-President, Nicole Cox called the annual meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

Board Members Present: Michelle Moore, Nicole Cox, Ron Eggerman, Mike Cockrum, Dennis Beeson, Kathy Cridlebaugh, Janell Armstrong, and Kris Hoffman Board Members Absent: Julie Eagan Library Staff Present: Library Director JeNel Barth City Staff Present: None

Agenda Approval: Approved as presented

**Minutes Approval:** The 2022 Annual Meeting Minutes were approved as presented at the August 10, 2022 regular board meeting.

Visitors/Public Comment: None

Director's Annual Report: Library Director JeNel Barth reports

- 1) Building: Stairwell was painted partly thanks to a grant from Paint Iowa Beautiful and Jamie Lewellen donating his time, front sign has new plexiglass, and additional security cameras were added thanks to the Foundation.
- 2) Kid Stuff: Children's programming continues to grow thanks to staff ideas and implementation.
- 3) Adults: Programming for adults included adult coloring and book chat. A blood pressure cuff station will be up and going in July.
- 4) Outreach: Staff continues to stay in touch with Centerville Community Schools and the preschools to offer assistance and resources, the nursing home delivery program has begun once again, a Storywalk installed at the City Park continues to host patrons.
- 5) Business: A new website is in the works and the staff is utilizing new electronic timecards.
- 6) Statistics: Circulation numbers are improving since covid as well as meeting room use and other services.

## **New Business:**

- 1. <u>Renewed Board Trustees:</u> Nicole Cox and Dennis Beeson have agreed to another term on the Board.
- 2. <u>Election of Officers:</u> Mike Cockrum nominated, Dennis Beeson seconded, and the board voted to elect the following board members for each position as follows, approved by all.
  - a. President: Janell Armstrong
  - b. Vice President: Nicole Cox
  - c. Secretary: Michelle Moore

Adjournment: Meeting adjourned by President Janell Armstrong.